Post Top Ad

Your Ad Spot

Thursday, November 8, 2018


In furtherance of the Free and Compulsory Education policy for every Akwa Ibom child, Governor Udom Emmanuel has approved the taking-over of additional 10 Community Schools by the state government.

The ten (10) Community Secondary Schools drawn from 10 LGAs of the state include:

Community Secondary School, Offi Uda in Mbo, Eket Vocational Technical College, Effoi in Eket, Q.I.C. Comprehensive Secondary School, Ikot Osudu in Ikot Abasi, Comprehensive High School, Eweme in Okobo and Community Secondary School, Ikot Nsung Ikono in Uyo LGA.

Others are: Christian Comprehensive Secondary School, Ikot Abia Osom in Obot Akara, Comprehensive Secondary School, Mbiabet Ikpe in Ini, Community Secondary School, Mbak Obio Itam, in Itu, A.M.E. Zion Secondary Commercial School, Mbokpu Oduobo in Okobo and Comprehensive High School, Idu in Uruan LGA.

With the additional 10 Community Schools on board, it brings to 17 the total number of Community schools taken-over by government, having already taken-over 7 other Community Schools earlier in 2017 to enable the children benefit from the free and compulsory education policy of the present administration.

This was contained in a release made available to the press in Uyo by the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Charles Udoh who said, this kind government gesture has met with excitements and praises to the State Governor, Mr. Udom Emmanuel whose commitment to boosting the education sector in the state has received national and international acclaim and acknowledgement.

Worthy of note is that, the Governor has also granted approval for the release of subvention to public primary and secondary schools in the State as Principals and Head-teachers have so far collected cheques to this effect in favour of their respective schools.

The release further disclosed that, the Governor Udom Emmanuel-led administration has undertaken the establishment of new schools in the state to accommodate the teeming children of school age in high density areas of the state; including Comprehensive Secondary school, Afaha Atai in Eket LGA and Government Model Girls Secondary School in Ikot Ekang in Abak LGA.

It reiterated that, the State Government’s priority in investing maximally in the education of Akwa Ibom child is targeted at raising a crop of indigenous professionals and experts who will be qualified enough to man and harness the huge investment in the numerous industries set up in the state in the nearest future for sustenance and maintenance of the companies by the people of the state.

The 7 Community Schools earlier taken over by the State Government include: Technical College, Ikot Udoe in Ikot Ekpene, Urban High School, Ikot Akpan Essien, Oruk Anam, Excellence Comprehensive Secondary School, Ikot Unya in Mkpat Enin, and Migrant School, Emeruke in Eastern Obolo LGA.

Others were: Community Comprehensive Secondary School, Ekeya in Okobo, Union Secondary School, Ibiaku in Ibiono Ibom, and Community Secondary School, Urua-Obo/Ikot Ata-Usung/Ikot Obong Otoro in Ikot Ekpene LGA.






No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad

Your Ad Spot