Post Top Ad

Your Ad Spot

Thursday, July 4, 2019


The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly on Thursday, screened and confirmed nominees for appointment as Commissioners and Special Advisers by Governor Udom Emmanuel.

Recall that at Plenary on Tuesday, June 25, 2019, the State Chief Executive, had in a letter sent to the State House of Assembly, requested the House of Assembly to confirm the appointment of 19 nominees as Commissioners and two Special Advisers into the State Executive Council.

In line with the Rules and Procedure of the House, the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Aniekan Bassey, referred the matter to the House Committee on Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and Public Petitions and directed the Committee to report back to the House within one week.

Presenting the Committee's report to the House at Plenary on Thursday, the Chairman, House Committee on Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and Public Petitions, Mr Victor Ekwere, said the nominees were interviewed on a wide range of intellectual issues as well as their area of specialization, adding the credentials and relevant documents of the nominees were also screened.

The Lawmaker said the Committee observed no adverse report against the nominees, adding that they have met the constitutional requirements for appointment as Commissioners as outlined in Section 192 (4) and 106 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

Mr Ekwere described the nominees as intelligent men and women of proven integrity who will add value to the administrative machinery of the State.

After moments of interactions with the nominees, the House in a motion moved by the House Leader, Rt. Hon. Udo Kieran and Second by the Deputy Leader, Rt. Hon. Aniefiok Denis, cleared and confirmed the nominees for appointment as Commissioners and Special Advisers by Governor Udom Emmanuel while the Speaker, Mr Aniekan Bassey directed the Clerk, Mrs Mandu Umoren to communicate the resolution of the House to the State Chief Executive.

Those confirmed as Commissioners include Mr Akan Okon, Arch. Ime Ekpo, Mr. Nse Essien, Barr Uwemedimo Nwoko, Sir Monday Uko, Mr. Linus Nkan, Rt Hon Okpulupum Etteh and Akparawa Ephraim Inyangeyen.

Others include Barr Ekong Sampson, Mr. Charles Udoh, Hon Orman Esin, Hon Iniobong Essien, Dr Dominic Ukpong, Dr. Gloria Edet, Hon Udo Ekpenyong, Hon. Prince Ukpong Akpabio, Rt. Hon Uno Etim Uno, Hon Rapheal Bassey and Mr. Victor Bassey, while Mrs Ekemini Umoh and Hon. Sunday Ibout were confirmed as Special Advisers.

Earlier, a Bill for a Law to Eliminate Violence in Private and Public Life, Prohibit all forms of Violence Against Persons and to Provide Maximum Protection and Effective Remedies for Victims and Punishment of Offenders and for Related Matters and a Bill for a Law to establish Akwa Ibom State School of Health Technology for Training of various Health Professionals in the State and for other Matters connected therewith, sponsored by the Deputy House Leader, Rt. Hon. Aniefiok Denis, scaled through First Reading.

Similarly, a Bill for a Law to Establish the Akwa Ibom State Safety Commission and other Related Matters, sponsored by the Member Representing Esit Eket/Ibeno State Constituency, Rt. Hon. Usoro Akpanusoh also scaled through First Reading.

Meanwhile, the House has adjourned its plenary to Thursday, July 18th, 2019.

Press Unit,
Office of the Speaker,
Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad

Your Ad Spot